quarta-feira, 30 de setembro de 2009

#3rd hand analysis

Round 3 here we go.

http://weaktight.com/1550298

I have AJo and i raise 4 blinds standard so far ... I get a call from the villain OTB he is a rather good player 21/16/5.0 very aggressive and unpredictable ( 2nd time i play with him not much history tho big NSD winner ) tho his range is wide the fact that he is OTB makes his hand strength even more concealed due to the fact that he played 65% of his button hands so far. I pot bet the flop ( more as a probe cause his range is so big and he only has a 57% fold to Flop Cbet ) well he calls and now i have to make a turn decision ( with a pairing T board ) , if the board was rainbow i would probably check to either get a call on an extra bet on the river or check call the next two streets but ... It wasnt ... So i decided to slow down a bit and still give him negative odds on a draw by betting 2/3s ... He calls once again and now i m on a pickle. The river is a complete blank ( if he had me crushed the two wouldnt make him fold anything so ... ) . Question : Could i bet here ? Would it be profitable ? I dont think so ... My hand is good but not good enough to escalate the pot that much with a sizable bet. I lose against any stronger ace , a T ( unlikely at least ) or a set of 2s ( no way he has that ) but the bottom line is ... My read was a backdoor flush draw with a weaker A or a mid pair like 99/88 and he wouldnt call a 3 streets action bet however he might bet against a check to steal the pot with any of those , his AGF says so. He bets 2/3s and i call ... AJ proofs best. Ship it !



No link on this one i have it on HM but dunno why no record of it on XML archives.

3 way , a 22/19/2.5 raises to 3 blinds , i have 20cents in the pot so i m 1:2 with a hand that can easily trap Aces ? Hell yeah i m in J9 of spades is good enough ! The flop is AJ4 with two clubs and a spade and he bets 2/3s of the pot which i reraise 3 times from 0.80 to 2.40 he still calls. Another spade comes on the turn ( T ) so my hand suffers an improvement , instead of betting i check behind cause in case a non club comes on the river i can raise bluff the pot and if the final spade to complete my draw appears i want an extra bet out of it. A Q of diamonds drops on the river and is not quite the card i was waiting for... Still he bets 2.60 on a 6.0 pot , i felt weakness and boom reraise to 7. He ends up folding. I was representing the straight cause in my opinion he had either a weak ace or a busted flush draw with a mid weakish pair and if i just called here i would be probably more than 2/3s of the time behind so i rather be aggressive and go for the steal since he showed weakness.

domingo, 27 de setembro de 2009

Muay-Thai

Boa tarde. Nesta última semana recomecei com os meus meus treinos de Muay-Thai e fiquei bastante contente com os resultados. Apesar de não ter praticado durante 2 meses, estive muito bem nos treinos e com uma condição física na minha opinião melhor que anteriormente. A razão foi pelo facto de ter vindo a treinar a nível cardiovascular e de força durante os 2 meses de férias. Outro factor positivo foi ter ganho perto d 3kg nesses dois meses.
Durante esta última semana de setembro irei treinar duas vezes muay-thai, 4 vezes treino de força e 2/3 vezes cardio, passando em Outubro para 3 treino de thai, 4 de força e matendo os 2/3 de cardio. A partir de Novembro/Dezembro passarei para 4 dias de thai, 3 de força e 2/3 dias de cardio com a possibilidade de aumentar consoante a minha condição no momento. No último treino recebi também a excelente notícia que dentro de 3 meses posso começar a competir, por isso penso agendar o meu primeiro combate para Abril para não prejudicar a minha prestação nas cadeiras práticas que me faltam na Faculdade (Ginástica e Andebol). Aí 2/3 meses antes do combate terei de começar a trabalhar thai 5 a 6 vezes por semana e condição física terei que ponderar no momento e terei que reduzir também o meu peso para -60kg, visto ser essa a minha categoria ideal.
De momento estou a trabalhar combinações muito específicas para a minha estatura e estou a começar também a implementar mais joelhos, cotovelos e treino de clinch. Irei começar a focar-me mais no boxe, visto ser esta a minha maior fraqueza... Ainda não tenho um jogo fluído, visto estar muito tenso e ainda não conseguir aproveitar a rotação do tronco e a força das pernas. Quanto ao trabalho de pernas está porreiro, devido a minha base de Karate e é uma questão de começar a treinar diversas combinações para variar o meu jogo. Espero nestes meses ter uma boa evolução e que tudo corra pelo melhor, de preferência sem lesões.
Cumprimentos a todos

sexta-feira, 25 de setembro de 2009

#2 Hand analysis

Lets get busy ! Hands from the last 3 days of grinding.

http://weaktight.com/1533200

In this hand i m up against the most active loose aggressive player i ever met , he is constantly ramming people away from pots . His stats r ( over 90 mns playing with him 6 max ) 57/41/3.6 with a 76% Flop Cbet 12% 3bet and only 36% Fold to 3bet. So i get AQs on the SB and raise to a standart 4 blinds , he raises be about 2,5 times and i 4bet him to 3+ times his 3bet, he calls. The flop comes K24 with 2 hearts well by now he is either putting me on AA KK AK or QQ , i had 2 options here either to check and quit the hand or shove cause in my opinion doing a 2/3s 1/2 bet in here is just donkish ... Lets see why. I have 12 behind the pot is already 12+ so i come out betting 6 or 8 for value with A high ? he might call me with something as low as KQ ( which i doubt he has ) the turn comes a blank or any figure card or even 9/T i fold with 4 behind ? Nah ... So in my humble point of view the only real choice here is shove , the check shove is the most absurd option ever cause given his huge aggression he might bet 99/TT/JJ//KQ and be compelled to call when i shove due to pot commitment. He ended up saying " AQ no good i guess " so i guess the most aggressive player took the hand down.



http://weaktight.com/1534046

I came to this hand with basically no info what so ever on anyone . I pick up KK OTB , the UTG raises 3 blinds and the shortstack to his left shoves right away , the hijack folds and now i have a choice to make , either i 4bet or just call for extra value ( i was seriously waiting that both blinds fold and the original raiser shoves/calls ) , well that did happen and he calls , i get a 25T generic flop the best i can get pretty much and he checks . The board isnt THAT perfect so i fire a 2/3 value bet cause atm all i can put the UTG raiser is either 2 big cards or a premium pair . He calls ... The turn reveals a 5 of spades that prolly doesnt help anyway , he checks again and i shove again for value. he calls on a dreadful A5 with the A of spades , river no spade " uff winkle winkle ".



http://weaktight.com/1533994

Now this hand is at least weird for me to post it ... I didnt won but i still enjoyed the showdown like i did. This whole table is really tight with 1 exception ... And the villain is a 15/8/1.4 ( weak rock in my opinion ) He limps UTG and i raise OTB with AKos 4 blinds ( yeap i could raised a bit more but i didnt sue me ! ) . Flop comes Q47 with 2 diamonds , he checks , i check aswell cause something is just not feeling right in here ( i bet to a check like 90% of the time on this board ). The turn shows probably the best card i could have got by then , a K of diamonds that gives me TPTK and nutflush draw , he bets the pot and i just call ( Yeah most people raise in this spot for info or even for value but i felt i was so behind i didnt ). River hits a meaningless trey of clubs and he goes to value town , i know i m beat but i still call just to confirm my read for a set or 4/7s and voila i was right . I just ended up saving a loooot of money on this hand and usualy i end up shoving this hand on the river and lose , so i was quite happy with the outcome i showed some discipline ( except for the river call ofc ) .




http://weaktight.com/1534751

Again against a medium skilled opponent 24/16/9.0 , interesting fact is that his Flop Cbet is 0% ... yeap 0% however he check raises 63% of the time and has a 59% turn Cbet. I pick 44 in the hijack and i limp ( which i rarely do with small PPs i prefer to bulk the pot normally ) because this tables average 3bet value is just insane and here i prefer to call a isolation raise and a possible 3rd player 3 bet and go multiway with as a 3bet caller then raising and end up folding due to poor implied odds. The SB raise 5 blinds and i call , now the flop is T2Q rainbow , he checks and i check aswell with the intention of getting an extra bet on later streets or call to a showdown as a bluffcatcher ( depending on the outcome of later streets ofc ). The turn is a 6 he bets 2/3s of the pot and i reraise a bit more than 2 times his previous bet, he ends up folding. I just showed this as an example of how to counter some less orthodox players and their weird plays. Sometimes all u need is a little imagination !



http://weaktight.com/1534799

Now this is the perfect example of the cooler hand where nothing can stop u from getting the opponents full stack. The context of the hand on the other hand is dubious cause both me and the villain have a lot of history from previous sessions. He is the typical weak rock that shoves sure hands and is so tight that ends up being exploited like a chinese hooker. I raise bullets on the hijack seat and he raises me 4 times ( i think to myself hummm time 2 ship it ! ) i smooth call to trap him. Flop comes Q high and i check , he bets virtually the pot , i once again just call him cause at this point if i shove he might fold AK AQ or JJ and if he has one of those i want an extra bet out of him. On the turn we see a T of diamonds that completes a draw that doesnt scare me at all ( i have the A of diamonds so he cant have AKd the Qd is on the board and JJ with the jack of diamonds might call a shove on the river if the K or another diamond comes ). The river doubles a 7 and i simulate i m going to the tank and shove before the time expires ( he caught me a day earlier bluffing a busted monster draw ) he also thinks and calls with KK ( with the K of diamonds ). Hell yeah ! Ship it ! U all asking now " Hey AA vs KK ? Big deal shove preflop and get the same result! " ... Well kinda true but if he had AK AQ JJ TT ( with his 5% 3bet thats all he reraises preflop to be honest ) we might get an extra 1/2 extra bets out of him with the smooth call preflop. Always good to play the same hand different ways to polarize ranges and patterns.


Well by the time u guys read this u all think ( WTF all he plays is premiums ? ) , i do have to play tighter in this limits i was loosing way to much money by expanding my range and aggression and most times the pots r 3/4 way in 6 max ( Yeah sick like hell ! Callstation land ! ) so there isnt that much space for being ubercreative. I ll try my best in the future to provide some wicked hands.

With my best regards Kurya.

quinta-feira, 24 de setembro de 2009

Rotina

Bem , bem , bem a nova epoca 2009/2010 de rugby vai comecar e como ela uma jornada para o ganho de massa visto que como de costume perdi cerca de 11 kgs durante o verao ... Estou agora no meu peso normal ( inicio da dieta ) 83.9kg tendo ja recuperado 3 dos 11 que perdi. O meu objectivo é chegar aos 95 kg e possivelmente considerar uma mudanca de posicao de ponta para asa. Aqui vai a minha rotina diaria com descricao das refeicoes :

10:00 - Rise and shine ! Corrida de 20 minutos a ritmo moderado ( Isto aqui nao é com o intuito de perda de gordura nem desgaste fisico mas sim para aumentar um pouco a minha condicao cardio vascular e habituar me a fazer cardio com o estomago vazia visto que tenho sentido alguma dificuldade nos treinos em correr apos ter comido , sim sim estou sempre com fome )

10:30 - Pequeno almoço - 100 grs aveia , 300 mls leite , 1 banana

11:00 - Primeira sessao do dia de aproximadamente 2 horas (1000 maos)

13:00 - Almoço - 200 grs galinha , 120 grs arroz

14:00 - Refeicao leve / Gym - 1 banana , 1 iogurte pequeno , 5 grs creatina

16:00 - Refeicao pos treino / Analise de artigos , leitura de varias publicacoes sobre poker - 80 grs dextrose , 50 grs whey , 5 grs creatina

17:00 - Segunda sessao do dia de aproximadamente 2 horas (1000 maos)

18:00 - Lanche - 100 grs batata doce , 160 grs atum

19:45 - Refeicao pre rugby - 50 grs amendoa , 6 ovos ( 3 gemas apenas ) , 50 grs espargos

20:30 - Rugby

22:30 - Refeicao pos rugby - 60 grs dextrose , 50 grs whey , 10 grs glutamina

23:00 - Analise diaria de maos juntamente com actualizacao do blog

00:30 - Jantar - 200 grs galinha , 100 grs feijao , broculos

02:00 - 187,5 grs queijo fresco , 300 mls leite


Acho que deve parecer obvio para qualquer um que leia isto que esta nao é obrigatoriamente a minha rotina todos os dias mas sim uma planificacao que serve como linha de orientacao. Tive tambem que dimunuir o intake calorico das primeiras 2 refeicoes pois representavam 2000+ calorias. Como ponto final gostaria de salientar que esta nao é a versao final do meu regime alimentar pois ainda terei de verificar os valores de proteina/hidratos/gordura e calorias que a soma de todas as refeicoes representam , talvez para a semana.

P.S : Nao aconselho a ninguem seguir a mesma dieta pois estou a segui la a meu proprio risco e responsabilidade , nao estou de todo qualificado para prescrever nem orientar ninguem no que toca a habitos alimentares.

terça-feira, 22 de setembro de 2009

Introduction

Greetings everyone. In the first place i would like to thank Kurya (Carrega) for the opportunity to participate in this project in which i will try to be the most active possible due to the fact that i m still finishing my degree and also training Muay-Thai ( some of the MMA related articles will be coming from me ) with the adjacent physical component.
As poker is concerned I m playing NL25 at the moment , its not going very well to be honest as I have a negative balance of 8 buy ins currently , however I m up 16 in NL10. Recently I have been following a new bankroll management strategy where I move up limits having 35 buyins and get back down if I lose 10 or realize my game is not sharp enough. So as we speak if I lose 6 more buys back to the good old NL10 and grind my way up once again ( lets hope I don’t need to do so )

Now lets analyse some of the hands I played today:


http://weaktight.com/1520019

The UTG raise of 5BBs with ATo was made with the intention of isolating Julmust6 which was by then playing 68/0/0.5 e had a CBet call of over 70% and in I have seen him misplay baby aces , middle pairs and weak top pairs ( resuming … he played most of the hands poorly ). The flop gives me the A and I bet 2/3s of the pot , standard. I end up turning 2 pairs which surely gives me the best hand now, 2/3s once again and here I think I might had got a call from a pot bet as he pays me off with any ace or even middle pair in addiction his call to turn CBet is 100%! The 3rd diamond on the river doesn’t scare me and so for the 3rd time in a row I shoot 2/3s of the pot and once again I think I might had bet the whole pot for the reason above.

http://weaktight.com/1520054

Well preflop nothing to point out. On the flop i decide to lead with my flush draw and i get 2 callers , possibly a pair and another flush draw just like me . The turn is a spade and so i complete my draw , I bet a little bit less than 2/3s and I suppose I should had bet a bit more in here ... A 2,25$ would have kept possible draws and pairs in the hand and bulk the pot some more. I go to value town on the river and get raised ... Now here I go deep down to the tank knowing I might be against a flush , the question is higher or lower , I end up calling , the reason is that the fact the villain is more likely to have a low/mid suited connector than a premium spade . Why ? There was no preflop aggressor.

That’s all for today , my best regards to all of you readers

segunda-feira, 21 de setembro de 2009

First Session

Well here we go , i m currently playing NL0.20 in Titan Poker , cash game 6-max 6 tables trying to play 2000 hands a day separated in 2 session of 2 hours each aprox. This is the report and analysis of some of the hands i think had a bigger impact on the session.

http://weaktight.com/1516012

In this hand the villain is 9/7/4.2 in a 500+ hands sample so should have a pretty good idea where i m standing with him. Preflop my hand is most likely behind of his raising range especially him being UTG but oh well 2 high cards suited in position to the agressor and with some more players to call sounds a pretty good plan.On the flop he bets 1/2 of the pot which i think it was either a Cbet on a medium strength hand ( according to the board ) QQ JJ TT 99 88 or a hand like AK KQ which had me smashed still i decided to reraise has an attempt to probe his hand strength and also trying to get a free river card in case my hands improve in the turn. The turns come to help me and i could have checked but that would be kinda weak giving the case so after he checks i bet more than half of the pot which he quickly mini raises , the hell goes loose and by then i know i m crushed ... But hey ... TPNK and a 2nd nutflush draw, thanks for the odds i think to myself. The moment i see the river i feel like i ve been vasectomized and i never have to wear a condom again " uff at least i get a split vs AK " ... Well not quite ... he has the nuts , flopped quads. nothing i can do nice hand sir and lets move on. In retrospective one thing thats still tickling me is ... If i reraise flop to get a free river card on a hand i thought was crushed why the hell do i bet turn even with improvement ? He has a 31% Turn Cbet and 0% check raise so ... dumb dumb welcome to the wonderland!



http://weaktight.com/1516503

This hand i isolate raise AJs with a bunch of limpers , the flop is kinda brutal giving me a gutshot + nutflush draw + overcard so i obviously bet , i have a caller OTB that is playing 17/6/1.2 and with a 79% Fold to Cbet so his call is kinda worrying atm. The turn reveals another queen and now i m really worried so i decided to check and thats cause that Q either hits him brutally or just improved the odds of me not having a Q , another factor that led to my check was the fact that i can call a value bet in this turn however if i bet and get reraised i loose all my calling odds and therefore end up putting more money into the pot and loosing an extra opportunity of completing my monster draw. A river blank shuts down my hand and i have to C/F.

http://weaktight.com/1517160

Now this lad is a 46/0/3.7 uberagressive and apparently has no idea of the existence of the possibility of choosing the hands that he can/canot play. So he limps i raise pretty straight forward i could had raised more to juice up the pot but hell i didnt want him to get away so 4 blinds was enough. Post flop he bets significantly strong and i raise him for value due to the fact that he has a 75% donk bet and 0% fold to total check raise ( if he doesnt fold to a check raise a standard strong play in most cases why the hell would he fold to a 2,5 times raise ). A 4 on the turn doesnt sound like a card that would make his hand and still he bets. at this point i think " he prolly has a weaker hand like QJ/QT/Q9 ( or a mid pair that missed so i ll let him bet and shove river since his SPR was negative i thought that was he was going to do since he is SOOO agressive", and with a J on the river was exactly what happened. Kudos to me i gave myself a hug.




http://weaktight.com/1517656

In this case my opponent is playing 77/46/2.2 ( Yeap his range is pretty much from a Holocaust jew kid with a limp leg that discovers that he has cancer while his puppy dog dies from being Hugh Heffner 40 years a go with a 5 hours erection standing in the middle of 7 uber hot virgins ).
I begin limping for pot odds he raise i have an extra player already coming along so why not... A K high flop gives me probably the best hand and the original raiser has a 89% Cbet and the 3rd LP caller has a 0% fold to Cbet so here i decide to sneak on them and check raise both OOP with my TPDK , he calls ... alright . A 2 on the turn gives no1 nothing and here instead of betting which would be a very strong play after check raising turn i just check with the intention of raising again his bet or in the worst chance C/C river if an apocalyptic card doesnt come , he checks aswell and the board boards on the river ( another 2 ) suddenly he bets 1/2 of the pot and now i wonder if my hand has enough SDV for a raise here or it would be better just to call , i choose door number 2 and he shows AJ.

domingo, 20 de setembro de 2009

HUD and short-therm goals


This is the HUD i m using at the moment and i ll post the stats in display bellow.



PlayerAlias / Number of Hands
VPIP / PFR / AGF
Flop CBet / Fold Flop CBet / Donk Bet Flop / Flop Check Raise
Turn CBet / Fold Turn CBet / Fold vs Turn Raise
3Bet / Fold to 3Bet / ATTSteal / BB Fold vs Steal / WTSD / W$SD

My short-therm goal is to do a sample of 20k hands until the end of the month playing aprox 2k hands a day and , analyse that sample ( even tho small ) and do a full report at the end of october . I will be posting hands for discussion and other interesting topics regarding the game.

sábado, 19 de setembro de 2009

Genesis

Why bother ?

That is in fact the question that most of us when going through a bad time ask ourselves ( in this case a bad run ) , well ... I decided instead of bitching and moaning about how bad i m running and how variance is fu**ing me from behind start this blog and use it as a tool to improve and evolve my game.
In order to do so i ask the help of everyone that reads this blog to contribute in an orderly and fashion way , not flaming , not judging or criticizing in unnecessary rude tone but to correct and explain your own point of view so the rest of us can learn from that same intervention.
In spite of the fact that i m portuguese i will be writing in english in every post so that more people can interact on it. As a last reminder to everyone this blogs purpose is to discuss poker strategy in all its complexity , however we will be posting about a lot of different topics aswell . As this first introduction is coming to an end i would like to express in advanced my gratitude to vulcanwolf (Mario) for helping me in the blog.

With no further ado i declare this blog open.